Menu Close

32 Players Nominated For 2021 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

footballers socks and boots

The 32 player nominees for the eighth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today.

Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – WARRICK DUNN, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient LARRY FITZGERALD, Pro Football Hall of Famer CURTIS MARTIN and LEONARD WHEELER – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote later this month.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.


TeamPlayer TeamPlayer
Arizona CardinalsBudda Baker Las Vegas RaidersDerek Carr
Atlanta FalconsJake Matthews Los Angeles ChargersDerwin James
Baltimore RavensLamar Jackson Los Angeles RamsJordan Fuller
Buffalo BillsJosh Allen Miami DolphinsJason McCourty
Carolina PanthersFrankie Luvu Minnesota VikingsAdam Thielen
Chicago BearsRoquan Smith New England PatriotsMatthew Slater
Cincinnati BengalsStanley Morgan New Orleans SaintsCameron Jordan
Cleveland BrownsNick Chubb New York GiantsJames Bradberry
Dallas CowboysDak Prescott New York JetsC.J. Mosley
Denver BroncosPat Surtain II Philadelphia EaglesDarius Slay
Detroit LionsJamaal Williams Pittsburgh SteelersBen Roethlisberger
Green Bay PackersAaron Jones San Francisco 49ersKyle Juszczyk
Houston TexansBrandin Cooks Seattle SeahawksTyler Lockett
Indianapolis ColtsDeForest Buckner Tampa Bay BuccaneersLavonte David
Jacksonville JaguarsShaquill Griffin Tennessee TitansDerrick Henry
Kansas City ChiefsPatrick Mahomes Washington Football TeamLandon Collins

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players.

From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honours. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.


2020QB Teddy BridgewaterCarolina Panthers
2019RB Adrian PetersonWashington Football Team
2018QB Drew BreesNew Orleans Saints
2017LB Luke KuechlyCarolina Panthers
2016RB Frank GoreIndianapolis Colts
2015CB Charles WoodsonOakland Raiders
2014WR Larry FitzgeraldArizona Cardinals