Menu Close

Eight Finalists Announced For 2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Awards

The eight finalists for the 2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been named, the NFL announced today.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The finalists, featuring four players from each conference, are defensive end Maxx Crosby (Las Vegas), linebacker Khalil Mack (Los Angeles Chargers), linebacker C.J. Mosley (New York Jets) and guard Kevin Zeitler (Baltimore) in the AFC, and safety Budda Baker (Arizona), fullback Kyle Juszczyk (San Francisco), quarterback Dak Prescott (Dallas) and linebacker Bobby Wagner (Seattle) in the NFC.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community selected the eight finalists from the 32 NFL club nominees. The panel comprises Warrick Dunn, Larry Fitzgerald, Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category.

“I have enjoyed the process of learning about the men that have been nominated for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award,” said NFL Legend Larry Fitzgerald.

“Each nominee has displayed the character of Mr. Rooney’s legacy. The award represents teamwork, competitiveness, hard work and integrity, while on the field.”

The award was created in 2014 in honour of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

2023 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Finalists

S Budda BakerArizona CardinalsNFC
DE Maxx CrosbyLas Vegas RaidersAFC
FB Kyle JuszczykSan Francisco 49ersNFC
LB Khalil MackLas Angeles ChargersAFC
LB C.J. MosleyNew York JetsAFC
QB Dak PrescottDallas CowboysNFC
LB Bobby WagnerSeattle SeahawksNFC
G Kevin ZeitlerBaltimore RavensAFC

Juszczyk is a finalist for the award for the fourth consecutive season while Crosby has been named a finalist for the second-consecutive year.

A vote of current NFL players determines the winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award and will be announced as part of NFL Honours.

From the eight finalists, each team’s players submitted a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.​

Previous Recipients of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

DT Calais CampbellBaltimore2022
WR Matthew SlaterNew England2021
QB Teddy BridgewaterCarolina2020
RB Adrian PetersonWashington2019
QB Drew BreesNew Orleans2018
LB Luke KuechlyCarolina2017
RB Frank GoreIndianapolis2016
CB Charles WoodsonOakland Raiders2015
WR Larry FitzgeraldArizona2014