Menu Close

Great Britain Name Team For Women’s World Ice Hockey Championship In Korea

GB Women team photo

Great Britain has named their team for April’s IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship Division I Group B in Suwon, Korea.

Following last year’s promotion, GB will face Italy, Kazakhstan, Poland, Slovenia and hosts Korea in the six-team group.

The tournament – which is being held at the Suwon Ice Rink – takes place from 17th to 23rd April.

GB Women celebrate
© Karl Denham

Head Coach, Mike Clancy, said: “We feel we have put together a very competitive squad for the World Championship. Competition for places has grown within the squad and will continue to do so.

“The players from the under-18s roster – Ellin Rees, Ellie Patrick and Ruby Newlands – have really impressed, making selection for this year’s World Championship harder than ever.

“It’s great to be able to get down to the finest detail when debating selection in line with our longer-term strategy for the women’s programme.

“Last month’s Four Nations was good preparation and we feel we are in good shape ahead of the World Championship.”


Ella Howard – University of Calgary, Canada

Nicole Jackson – Malmo Redhawks, Sweden 

Emma Nichols –  Sodertalje SK, Sweden (travelling reserve)  


Jodie Alderson-Smith – Solihull Vixens / Coventry Blaze 

Lucy Beal – Norwich University, USA

Shannon Douglas – Timra IK, Sweden 

Beth Hill – Guildford Lightning 

Ellin Rees – Ontario Hockey Academy, Canada 

Abbie Sylvester – Queen Bees / Chelmsford Warriors 

Ellie Wakeling – Queen Bees / Raiders IHC 


Rachel Cartwright – Queen Bees 

Katherine Gale – Queen Bees 

Emily Harris – Castleton University, USA

Aimee Headland – Norwich University, USA

Katie Henry – Solihull Vixens 

Ila Hobbins – Bristol Huskies 

Chamonix Jackson – Ontario Hockey Academy, Canada 

Katie Marsden – Kingston Diamonds 

Ruby Newlands – Whitley Bay Beacons / Kilmarnock Blizzard

Chrissy Newman – Queen Bees 

Steph Towns – Whitley Bay Beacons

Ellie Wallace –  TPS Akatemia, Finland 

Isabell Whiteley – Streatham Storm