Menu Close

England 2022 UEFA WU19 European Championship Squad Announced

England Lionesses

The England squad to compete at the 2022 UEFA WU19 European Championship has been confirmed today. 

The Young Lionesses are one of eight nations bidding to win the prestigious age-group tournament to be played in Czech Republic from 26 June to 9 July. England are in a section with Norway, Sweden and Germany with the top two teams progressing to the semi-finals. 

It all starts with a fixture against Norway on Monday 27 June at 4.30 pm (BST) in the  Městský Stadium, Karviná. That will be followed by a meeting with Sweden at 4.30 pm (BST) on Thursday 30 June at the Stovky Stadium, Frýdek-Místek before a  return to the Městský Stadium for the final group fixture against Germany on Sunday  3 July, with a 7 pm (BST) kick-off. 

Head coach Gemma Davies guided the WU19s to the finals with three wins out of three in April’s qualifying round, with eight goals scored and none conceded in victories against Wales, Iceland and Belgium.  

She said: “The spotlight is on our game this summer with the senior EUROs in  England and our players have the perfect platform to show what they can do before it all begins. It is a great opportunity for them to experience tournament football and learn more about what goes into representing your country.

While we are looking to  perform in every match, it is an important step for them to develop as individuals on  and off the pitch as they work their way through the pathway.” 

England, featuring Lucy Bronze and Demi Stokes, won the competition in 2009 with a 2-0 defeat of Sweden and have been runners-up on three previous occasions in  2007, 2010 and 2013. Germany remains the most successful nation at this level with six titles overall while they were also runners-up in the last two editions. 

England UEFA Women’s Under-19 EURO squad 

Goalkeepers: Khiara Keating (Manchester City), Natalia Negri (Crystal Palace) 

Defenders: Tara Bourne (Manchester United), Anouk Denton (University of  Louisville), Jorja Fox (Chelsea), Neve Herron (Sunderland), Ruby Mace (Manchester  City), Olivia McLoughlin (Aston Villa), Lucy Parry (Liverpool), Caitlin Smith (Clemson  University) 

Midfielders: Laura Blindkilde Brown (Aston Villa), Grace Clinton (Everton), Lucia  Kendall (Southampton), Mia Ross (Charlton Athletic), Maisie Symonds (Brighton and  Hove Albion), Charlotte Wardlaw (Chelsea)

Forwards: Aggie Beever-Jones (Chelsea), Freya Gregory (Aston Villa), Emily  Murphy (University of North Carolina), Lucy Watson (Sheffield United)