Menu Close

EFL Award Winners 2022 Announced

Efl trophy awards

Last updated on April 25th, 2022 at 10:32 AM

The winners of the 2022 EFL Awards have been revealed as Clubs, players, managers and fans were recognised for their achievements at a star-studded evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London. 

The prolific Fulham hotshot Aleksandar Mitrović was crowned as the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season after his goals helped Marco Silva’s side to automatic promotion.

Efl awards 2022
© Ian Tuttle/Shutterstock

Earning the award ahead of Bournemouth’s Dominic Solanke and his Cottagers’ team-mate Harry Wilson, the Serbian forward has netted a remarkable 41 goals so far this season. 

The trio were also named in the Sky Bet Championship Football Manager Team of the Season while  Luton Town’s Nathan Jones was awarded the Manager of the Season for the division. 

MK Dons’ Scott Twine was awarded the Sky Bet League One Player of the Season. The Dons’  attacking midfielder fought off competition from Sheffield Wednesday’s Barry Bannan and Michael  Smith of Rotherham United, with Twine’s 16 league goals helping to put his team in contention for automatic promotion. 

Efl awards
© Ian Tuttle/Shutterstock

It was also a successful night for Forest Green Rovers who look set for their first-ever promotion to  Sky Bet League One, with full-back Kane Wilson winning the Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season award, whilst also being named in Sky Bet League Two Football Manager Team of the  Season alongside team-mates Nicky Cadden and Matty Stevens. Rovers’ manager Rob Edwards was recognised as the League Two Manager of the Season in the team. 

Elsewhere, Nottingham Forest’s Brennan Johnson, Paddy Lane of Fleetwood Town and Newport  County’s Finn Azaz were named the Young Players of the Season for the Sky Bet Championship, Sky  Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two respectively, while former Reading, Watford and Leyton  Orient Midfielder Jobi McAnuff claimed the Sir Tom Finney Award. 

Charlton Athletic’s Ryan Inniss was named as the PFA Player In the Community while AFC  Wimbledon won the Your Move Community Club of the Season. Meanwhile, Burton Albion was awarded the Community Project of the Season. 

The Brewers’ chairman, Ben Robinson MBE, was recognised for his service to the game when he was presented with the Contribution to League Football Award.  

Over the night, the best of the EFL were honoured across all three divisions to celebrate excellence on and off the pitch.


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season 

Aleksandar Mitrović – Fulham 

Sky Bet League One Player of the Season 

Scott Twine – MK Dons 

Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season 

Kane Wilson – Forest Green Rovers 

Sky Bet Championship Young Player of the Season 

Brennan Johnson – Nottingham Forest 

Sky Bet League One Young Player of the Season 

Paddy Lane – Fleetwood Town 

Sky Bet League Two Young Player of the Season 

Finn Azaz – Newport County

LFE Apprentices of the Season 

Ryan Howley – Coventry City (Sky Bet Championship) 

Ayodeji Elerewe – Charlton Athletic (Sky Bet League One) 

Junior Tchamadeu – Colchester United (Sky Bet League Two) 

Your Move Community Club of the Season 

AFC Wimbledon 

PFA Player in the Community 

Ryan Inniss – Charlton Athletic 

Community Project of the Season 

Burton Albion 

Contribution to League Football 

Ben Robinson MBE – Burton Albion 

Kin + Carta Family Club 

Ipswich Town 

Supporter of the Season 

Cath Dyer – Swansea City 

Sustainability Award 

Cambridge United 

Diversity Award  

Blackburn Rovers 

Sir Tom Finney Award 

Jobi McAnuff

2022 Goal of the Season 

Barry Bannan – MK Dons v SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY – 16.04.22 


Goalkeeper Lee Nicholls Huddersfield Town
Defender Joe Worrall Nottingham Forest
Defender Lloyd Kelly AFC Bournemouth
Defender Tosin Adarabioyo Fulham
Defender Djed Spence Nottingham Forest
Defender Antonee Robinson Fulham
Midfielder Philip Billing AFC Bournemouth
Midfielder Ryan Yates Nottingham Forest
Midfielder Harry Wilson Fulham
Striker Aleksandar Mitrović Fulham
Striker Dominic Solanke AFC Bournemouth
Manager Nathan Jones Luton Town


Goalkeeper Michael Cooper Plymouth Argyle
Defender Jack Whatmough Wigan Athletic
Defender Michael Ihiekwe Rotherham united
Defender Harry Darling MK Dons
Defender Wes Burns Ipswich Town
Midfielder James McClean Wigan Athletic
Midfielder Barry Bannan Sheffield Wednesday
Midfielder Dan Barlaser Rotherham United
Midfielder Scott Twine MK Dons
Striker Michael Smith Rotherham United
StrikerRoss Stewart Sunderland
ManagerLeam Richardson Wigan Athletic 


Goalkeeper Jojo Wollacott Swindon Town 
Defender Jon Guthrie Northampton Town
Defender Peter Clarke Tranmere Rovers
Defender Jordan Turnbull Salford City
Defender Kane Wilson Forest Green Rovers
Midfielder Nicky Cadden Forest Green Rovers
Midfielder Timothee Dieng Exeter City
Midfielder Finn Azaz Newport County
Midfielder Harry McKirdy Swindon Town
Striker Dom Telford Newport County
Striker Matty Stevens Forest Green Rovers
Manager Rob Edwards Forest Green Rovers