Menu Close

Referee Team Appointed For UEFA Women’s Champions League Final In San Sebastián

UEFA Womens Champions League final in San Sebastián

The UEFA Referees Committee has announced that Esther Staubli will referee the 2020 UEFA Women’s Champions League final between VfL Wolfsburg and Olympique Lyonnais. The match will be played at the Anoeta Stadium in San Sebastián on Sunday 30 August at 20:00 CET.

The 40-year-old Swiss, an international referee since 2006, will be taking charge of her second UEFA Women’s Champions League final. Staubli was first given the honour in 2015, when she oversaw the final in Berlin, with 1. FFC Frankfurt defeating Paris Saint-Germain.

Staubli has been entrusted with officiating at three matches in the UEFA Women’s Champions League this season, including the quarter-final between Arsenal Women FC and Paris Saint-Germain in San Sebastián on 22 August.

The Bern native is a vastly experienced official and took charge of the UEFA Women’s EURO final in 2017, with the Netherlands taking on Denmark in Enschede. She also refereed matches at last year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

At the final in San Sebastián, Staubli will be assisted by Sanja Rođak Karšić of Croatia and Ukraine’s Oleksandra Ardasheva. The fourth official is Jana Adámková from the Czech Republic. The video assistant referee (VAR) role has been assigned to José María Sánchez Martínez and he will be helped by fellow Spaniard Ricardo De Burgos Bengoechea. The reserve assistant referee is Maryna Striletska from Ukraine.

2020 UEFA Women’s Champions League final refereeing team

  • Referee: Esther Staubli (SUI)
  • Assistants: Sanja Rođak Karšić (CRO), Oleksandra Ardasheva (UKR)
  • 4th Official: Jana Adámková (CZE)
  • VAR: José María Sánchez Martínez (ESP)
  • Assistant VAR: Ricardo De Burgos Bengoechea (ESP)
  • Reserve Assistant Referee: Maryna Striletska (UKR)